FACULTY SENATE MEETING AGENDA Mississippi-Illinois Room May 1, 2025 – 2:30 p.m.

1. Call to Order

2. Vote to approve request of senators to attend the meeting via Zoom

3. Announcements

• Undergraduate Scholars Showcase – 9am, May 2, 2025; Morris University Conference Center

4. Guest Speakers

5. Public Comments

- 6. Consideration of Minutes
 - **A.** April 3, 2025

7. Action Items

- A. Changes to Policy 1C1 (Guidelines for Course Categories, Class Scheduling and Publications)
- **B.** Changes to Policy 1H1 (General Education Program)
 - o Guest: Matthew Schunke, General Education Committee Chair

8. Unfinished Business

- **A.** Update on Approval to Changes to Teaching Excellence Award Committee Operating Papers approved by Chancellor Minor (approval received April 21, 2025)
- **B.** Update on Approval to Changes to Policy 1Q8 (Implementation and Administrative Responsibility Policy)

9. New Business

- A. Council Chairs for 2025-2026 academic year
 - a) Budget, Finance and Academic Operations Council Kevin Tucker (needs approval)
 - b) Curriculum Council Amy Winn (needs approval)
 - c) Faculty Development Council Christine Simmons (pending election to senate; needs approval)
 - d) Rules and Procedures Council Tim Kalinowski (needs approval)
 - e) Welfare Council Leah Baecht and Igor Crk (co-chairs; needs approval)
 - f) Graduate Council Gloria Sweida
- **B.** Annual Evaluation of SIUE Provost
- C. Annual Evaluation of SIUE Chancellor
- D. Changes to Retired/Emeritus Faculty Policy First Read
- E. Program Prioritizations: Specializations or Minor Curriculum Council
 - a) Art History
 - b) Bioprocess Chemistry; Medical Science
 - c) French; German; Discontinue Instruction in Chinese; Department of Foreign Languages to be merged with Department of English Language and Literature
 - d) Music Theory and Composition; Musical Theater
- F. Faculty Senate 2024-2025 Report

10. Reports from Standing Committees (Read on Teams/SharePoint before the Senate meeting)

- A. UPBC: Jon Pettibone
- B. IBHE Faculty Advisory Council: Susan Wiediger

11. Reports from Council Chairs (Read on Teams/SharePoint before the Senate meeting)

- A. Budget, Finance and Academic Operations Council: Kevin Cannon
- B. Curriculum Council: Amy Winn
- C. Faculty Development Council: Christine Simmons
- D. Governance Council: Tim Kalinowski
- E. Graduate Council: Cinnamon VanPutte
- F. Welfare and Adjudication Council: Keith Hecht
- **G.** President-elect: Wai Cheah
- H. President: Marcus Agustin

The next Faculty Senate meeting will be Thursday, September 4, 2025 at 2:30 p.m. in TBD.